August 5th, 2013| August 5, 2013 When taking to the water in California, the chances of suffering a mishap can be high. In fact, experts say that the rate at which California Boat Accidents occur is higher than any other state in the nation. A contributing factor to the large number of incidents on the water in California is the state’s many inexperienced and under-trained boaters. In fact, NBC-Bay Area News says more than 270 boat accidents of the 473 crashes last year were attributed to operator distraction or lack of experience. California is one of only five states in the country that allows individuals to drive watercraft with no training. Now, lawmakers are working to reduce the number of boat accidents by introducing a new bill that would require all new boaters to take a boating safety course in order to qualify to hit the waterways across the state. Currently, the law only requires that an individual be at least 16 years old or as young as 12 years old if an adult accompanies them. The law was introduced after a 12-year-old girl was killed in a boating accident caused by a distracted operator. The California Personal Injury Lawyers with Berg Injury Lawyers applaud the efforts being made to improve the safety along the state’s waterways and hope the new law is effective in reducing the number of accidents.