June 25th, 2008|
June 25, 2008
With California’s new hands-free law taking effect July 1, 2008, many Californians are purchasing headsets for their cell phones so they can continue to talk while driving. Any motorists, who are caught chatting on their cell phones without a hands-free device starting July 1, will be fined.
To help local residents and alleviate the added costs of purchasing headsets, Berg Injury Lawyers will be distributing 2,000 complimentary hands-free headsets.
“With the new law taking effect, many Californians are faced with the added expense of purchasing hands-free headsets,” said attorney William Berg, founder of Berg Injury Lawyers. “By giving these headsets away, I hope to alleviate the extra expense while promoting safe driving. As part of my job, I constantly hear about car accidents that could have been easily avoided if drivers had been paying more attention to the traffic around them. I hope that this new law helps keep all drivers a little safer on the roads.”
The law, which takes effect July 1, 2008, is meant to protect everyone on the road by reducing driver distraction. According to the Public Policy Institute of California, an estimated 300 lives will be saved annually in California due to the new law. Additionally, Connecticut, Washington, New York, New Jersey, Chicago, and Washington, D.C., currently have laws in place to ban using hand-held mobile devices while driving.
To receive a complimentary hands-free headset, visit the firm’s Web site at www.BergInjuryLawyers.com and fill out a simple form. Headsets will be available at Berg Injury Lawyers’ Alameda, Modesto, and Sacramento office locations beginning July 3 while supplies last.
About California’s Hands-Free Law
- While those 18 and older are allowed to use hands-free headsets, those under 18 aren’t allowed to use mobile devices with or without hands-free accessories (VC §23124).
- Police officers will begin ticketing drivers who use cell phones without hands-free devices on July 1. The first offense results in a $20 fine and the second offense is a $50 fine. Multiple offenses could result in more than triple the base amount.
- Drivers are allowed to use their cell phones without hands-free devices during emergencies to call police, fire, or medical authorities.
September 12th, 2007|
Three teenagers allegedly stole a black 2006 Honda Accord, crashed it, and started a serious California fire on Tuesday. The California fire covered 430 acres and is only 50% contained. More than 700 firefighters have been attempting to put the fire out, but there may be strong winds later in the day that could cause the fire to spread more rapidly.
There have been no serious California burn injuries resulting from the car crash, and the three teens are still at large. One boy is believed to have suffered a serious back injury in the California car crash.